Graduations and The Good Place are my happy place

Today is the first day of my vacation where I actually had nothing to do. NOTHING. So I actually did nothing. I didn’t even go to the gym. This is the first time I haven’t left my house in…I don’t even know when. So that was exciting.

Last week was busy because we celebrated my daughter’s high school graduation on Thursday. Her father and paternal grandparents came into town. Unfortunately (or fortunately, if you’re her), the graduation was ticketed and at night, which meant the celebration was very small. I would have preferred a huge party with everyone we know in the whole wide world. She was happy to have it be just family. And that’s all that matters. I guess.


I wrote two blog posts last week:


And I read one book:

BlameBlame by Michelle Huneven
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I sincerely do not get the point of this book.

Wait, scratch that. I sincerely get the second and third acts. I do not know what to make of the first and last two. In fact, they pissed me off.

Here’s the thing. I think this would have been a much more compelling story if it were about (view spoiler)

Also, please spare me with the blonde white woman really is innocent after all stuff. 🙄 (hide spoiler)]

I also found the unending and unchecked privilege infuriating–especially because one character actually thinks Patsy should be commended for getting her life together so quickly without anyone in the book ever once pointing out that it’s because of her extensive (and moneyed) support system.

(view spoiler)

I should also point out that I listened to the audio version and the narrator made Patsy (and all of the women except Audrey and Silver) sound so whiny. It didn’t help with my feelings about the book, but I can’t say it totally hurt it either. The author did a good enough job at losing me in the end herself.

View all my reviews


I started the audiobook for Swing Time by Zadie Smith today, and I already like it better than the print version. The narrator is British! (Of course, she’s British. That’s not the point. The point is I like British narrators. Some of my fave audiobooks have been narrated by Brits. Pippa Barrett-Warner‘s voice is a delight is what I’m saying.) Also, good job to past me for writing down exactly what page I ended on when I gave up on the print version. It was so much easier to line up with the audiobook. *pats self on back*

I am still making my way through Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. It is delightful and fun, which is just what I need right now.


I also started rewatching The Good Place today on Hulu. This show delights me. I am delighted! It’s especially fun to watch knowing what happens in the finale. I’ll probably (okay, maybe–let’s be real) do a post about everything I noticed on rewatch. I have been texting my friend who is doing field work this summer (almost) all of my observations.

The one non-spoilery thing I’ll say is that Chidi continues to be the absolute best, and I love him with my whole heart.

I am also playing Bejeweled, early 2000s style (except on my iPhone, so 2010s style as well).

Kidlit version hosted by Kellee Moye of Unleashing Readers and Jen of Teach Mentor Texts; original version hosted by Kathryn at Book Date.

Have a great week, everyone!

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

3 comments

  1. cweichel

    I have been reading about Blame in other places, and it really doesn’t come off well at all. I think I will skip it.
    There are some books that I can’t read with my eyes because I’ve listened to the rest of the series, and I end up feeling bereft without the author’s voice.

    Like

  2. Elisabeth Ellington

    We are huge The Good Place fans! My son has been bugging me about when the new season is going to begin. I love Zadie Smith’s nonfiction but always struggle with her novels for some reason. I should try Swing Time on audio. I often do better with fiction for grown-ups in that format. I suppose it’s because I read so much children’s lit, but fiction for grown-ups just has too many words for me, too much description.

    Like

    • Akilah

      Yeah, a lot of grown-up fiction takes way too long to get to the point.

      At any rate, I gave up on Swing Time. See above re: taking too long to get to the point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

