A is for Acceptance #AtoZChallenge

I am grateful for acceptance because it lets me look at a problem full on and see what my options are for solving it.

I am grateful for acceptance because it keeps me from indulging in the what-ifs and should-have-beens.

Acceptance keeps me in the present.

Yesterday, after I balanced my checkbook and used the envelope system to allocate money for gas and food, I had to accept the fact that I had no disposable income.

This was after I finally accepted (again) that I have a lot of debt and need to live within my means.

Accepting that I had no disposable income meant that I couldn’t go see either Hidden Figures or Get Out, or do, well, anything else extra really. Before I would have been depressed or sad. But now I can say, “This is your situation right now. If you want more any disposable income, you know what you need to do.”

It also meant I had to fully face that I had <$20 for groceries for the next two weeks. And that I should have budgeted before I made a quick run to the grocery store. See, if I had budgeted before, I might have changed what I bought. But I didn’t. So I had to accept that I couldn’t change that decision because it was in the past. I could only focus on what to do next. And because I know using my credit card to buy food won’t help me get out of debt, I had to accept that I was not going to use that as an option.

When my mom reminded me that Farm Share was going to be in our town, I knew it was something I could do to solve my problem about getting food for the next two weeks. I had to accept that I needed help getting food and that help was available.

Acceptance allows me to ask for help, something I used to be unwilling to do.

Acceptance allows me to make the changes I need to live the life I want.

I am grateful for acceptance.

Blogging from A to Z is a challenge that runs through the month of April.

For the Blogging from A to Z Challenge this year, my theme is gratitude. Every day, I am going to post about something I am grateful for. Tune in tomorrow to see what I pick for B.

Save

14 comments

  1. crissdude

    Such an important lesson for life…and you made it even more relatable with examples from your life.

    Loved reading this.

    Cheers,
    CRD

    Like

  2. chrissy50

    Wow. You are brave. I have said and said and SAID that I will do the envelope system to budget, because it seems absolutely foolproof. I mean, you have what you have in each envelope and no more. And like you said, “fun and entertainment” is the last envelope allotted. *sigh* I accept that I need to strive for the envelope system….next month….with gratitude. 🙂

    Great post!!-

    –Chris

    Like

  3. Pingback: But if you try sometimes, you get what you need: February/March in review | The Englishist
  4. Pingback: B is for Birkenstocks #AtoZChallenge | The Englishist
  5. Pingback: G is for Gratitude #AtoZChallenge | The Englishist
  6. Pingback: A to Z Reflection 2017 | The Englishist

Leave a Reply

